[Scspamcop] Re: Is SpamCop parsing this correctly?
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Tue Apr 14 23:46:08 EDT 2009
Geoffrey Hyde wrote:
www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2792181368zbcb1e3b85cc8fcb010d48b35cfdd5f4fz
> Is SpamCop parsing this spam correctly?
Yes, but your provider isn't doing a very good job. It should be doing a
better job of rejecting some of the spam which is submitted to it for
placing in its clients' mailboxes and it should do a better job of
stamping its headers.
The IP 62.217.151.43 rDNS vlan151-43.azeronline.com is listed on numerous
blocklists such as the 3 UCEprotects and the offspring from CBL's
proxyspammerlist such as spamhaus ZEN as well as spamcop's source listing.
Most mail providers would do something with that item besides just accept
it to put it into your mailbox - such as reject it or greylist it until it
went away.
Then after bigpond's server accepts the spam from a source which is such a
known spamsource, it does a whacky job of stamping its header tracelines.
Not that there is anything specfic that you can do about all that to
change bigpond's behavior, but I think that having a mailbox like that
which is unfiltered would require something to protect your inbox by
distinguishing the spam from the goodmail; if not spamcop, then something
like spampal.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SCspamcop
mailing list