[Scspamcop] Re: Is SpamCop parsing this correctly?

Ellen nobody at spamcop.net
Tue Apr 14 20:58:20 EDT 2009


Geoffrey Hyde wrote:
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2792181368zbcb1e3b85cc8fcb010d48b35cfdd5f4fz
> 
> It's obviously a pathetic attempt at a forgery trying to be from some 
> legitimate looking Microsoft company or subsidiary.  SpamCop wasn't fooled, 
> either.
> 
> Is SpamCop parsing this spam correctly?  Being that I'm mailhosted, I need 
> to find out if SpamCop's getting the right target, so just let me know if 
> the parser is doing what it's supposed to do and finding the source or not. 
> I don't care about whatever gimmicks the spammer was trying to use.
> 
> 
> Cheers ...
> 
> Geoffrey Hyde
> 
> 
> 

What do you think is a pathetic forgery? The headers look 
straightforward to me -- some random IP in Azerbaijan has a compromised 
machine behind it sending spam or is controlled by the spammer. There 
are two received headers - the top one is bigpond passing the mail 
around and the next one is bigpond receiving the mail from outside ... I 
am sure we have discussed the line in orange more than once, that is the 
parsing recognizing the injection source on a mailhosted account.

If you are talking about the "you are receiving this offer" part of the 
spam -- that's pretty standard for spammers to copy and use bits and 
pieces of legit mailings in their spam.


Ellen
SpamCop


More information about the SCspamcop mailing list