[Scspamcop] Re: Maybe this has been covered before: Gmail headers?

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Tue Apr 7 11:34:47 EDT 2009


Trent wrote:
> "Mike Easter"
>> Trent wrote:
>>
>>> I am now using Google's free mail service for your own domain name.
>>> I tried reporting some of the spam I get, but it cannot find the
>>> sender's source IP address.
>>
>> Methods to submit gmails to spamcop from the webfaq and the forumfaq:

> This last step cannot be done:
>
www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2766885569za16007669b966c15c62bbd8829bc12e4z

This is a tracker sufficient to demonstrate what is going on.

> No source IP address found, cannot proceed.

You submitted a spam for a mailhosted account which mailhost has not been
setup comprehensively.

If I take that same exact spam found at the tracker above (view entire
message), and submit it to the parser for a nonmailhosted account of mine,
the spam will parse.

Here is its tracker:
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2768357794zc4975e6815381d17c8cc77fcffdeb47fz

Report Spam to:

Re: 72.32.59.251 (Administrator of network where email originates)
 To: abuse at rackspace.com (Notes)

Re: http://server.indiaproperty.com/IP_Campaign/tra... (Administrator of
network hosting website referenced in spam)
 To: abuse at rackspace.com (Notes)

Re: http://www.indiaproperty.com/index.php?option=m... (Administrator of
network hosting website referenced in spam)
 To: abuse at rackspace.com (Notes)

<cancelled>

The purpose of that experimental cancelled parse was to demonstrate the
'parsability' of the spam and to demonstrate that if you are going to use
a mailhosted account, which mailhosting has advantages, that the
mailhosted account must be properly configured.




-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SCspamcop mailing list