[Scspamcop] Re: PS Re: Strange spams

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Wed Sep 17 16:00:38 EDT 2008


Twayne wrote:
> PS
> Mike,
>
> If you do a forum search on "received by 0"

That isn't the problem line, except in the context that it is one of the
header tracelines which is non-helpful.  As you said earlier, that
traceline condition isn't all that unusual.

The line under that one is the real problem which is what I indicated by
my *comment about noncompliant.  I wasn't talking about the 'by 0' line
being noncompliant.

Here are two examples from your trackers:

  from 186.12.58.185  (EHLO vms172073pub.verizon.net) (206.46.172.73) by
mta101.vzn.mail.re2.yahoo.com *serves recipient, noncompliant fromfield

and

  from 216.130.45.150  (EHLO vms169127pub.verizon.net) (206.46.169.127) by
mta101.vzn.mail.re2.yahoo.com *serves recipient, noncompliant fromfield

For purposes of discussion, I'm assuming that both of those lines are
'real' lines stamped by mta101.vzn.mail.re2.yahoo.com

The question is, what the hell is that IP address immediately after the
'from' all about?  It isn't the source, it isn't where
mta101.vzn.mail.re2.yahoo.com got the item from and it looks for all the
world like the construction for a bogusline.

I'm not familiar with what your mailhost normally looks like, so I don't
know what to say about such a line.


--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SCspamcop mailing list