[Scspamcop] Strange spams
Twayne
nobody at devnull.spamcop.net
Tue Sep 16 17:40:03 EDT 2008
Hi,
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2252252187ze2af7249bf92b1b8c93d194639cd6ec8z
is one of several spams I've had lately. What's interesting about it
is:
1. When I reported, the report went ONLY to Verizon.
2. Using the tracker number, it says it would also have reported it to
:
Re: http://ree.eymore.cn/ (Administrator of network hosting website
referenced in spam)
poul at ragtime.ru
----------------------
And here's another, but this time it's only VZ as I saw when I submitted
it:
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2251380926z6475221400831c985d452c35b6956e06z
----------------
I've been watching my spam a little bit because almost all if it traces
(seemingly reasonable so) back to Verizon as the origin (actually Yahoo,
I think, because of the VZ/Yh crazy e-mail relationship). But, I'm
never seeing Yahoo being reported to.
In addition, many of the spams are coming from the same block of
numbers. Spam after spam has similar IP addresses in the traces. In
fact, I think the two trackers above show the same exact IPs if I recall
correctly; I'm a little blotto from trying to figure these things out.
While the majority of the spams go to Verizon, there are also a lot of
others that go to Bell South, Gblx and a few other big names, as the
sources of the spam. And there is often a long list of spamvertising
sites in the suggested report to's.
I guess what I'm wondering is:
-- Is SC getting these things right? Looks like the injection points
are at Yahoo, not Verizon, to me, but I'm not too sure of what I'm
looking at.
-- Isn't Yahoo more accurately the right place for these reports to go?
I hope not because I know Yahoo is nothing but a black hole. Hmm, maybe
that's why they're going to VZ then. Dunno.
-- Or have I just had the honor of getting on some specific idiot's
list that this is their modus operandi?
If anyone wants more evidence, this is the ONLY type of spam I'm getting
these days; probably between 8 to 15 a day. If it'll help anything I
can provide more trackers and/or excerpts from trackers or whatever
would help, if needed.
Yes, My ISP is Verizon.
Regards,
Twayne
More information about the SCspamcop
mailing list