[Scspamcop] Re: colocentral.com

Eönwë jzeitlin at spamcop.net
Tue Sep 2 09:43:55 EDT 2008


On Tue, 02 Sep 2008 02:46:10 -0600, SpamCop Admin
<nobody at devnull.spamcop.net> wrote:

>Eönwë wrote:
>>-Occasionally, SC doesn't seem to be able to find any valid reporting
>>-address, and ends up sending the report to nomaster at devnull.spamcop.net.
>>-It seems to me that this is the wrong thing to do; it should be going to
>>-nomaster at admin.spamcop.net to draw your (collective-deputies) attention
>>-to the problem.  ¿Porque no?
>
>No.  The Spammers are doing some fancy DNS dancing, and moving their
>web sites around to keep from being found.
>
>It won't do any good for us to spend deputy time trying to find a
>reporting address that will only be good for an hour.  The report will
>just go to a spam-friendly host anyway.  Total waste of time.
>
>We're in the business of finding and blocking source IPs, not web
>sites.  The web sites are an extra.  There is just no way that we are
>going to devote deputy man hours to developing patterns and trends for
>web URLs.
>
>- Don -

I'm sorry; I wasn't clear.  Most of the time, yes, it's for a website -
but I've hit them occasionally on SOURCE parses.  It's THOSE that I
think should be going to admin rather than devnull.  Or does
spam-friendly still apply?
-- 
Eönwë
(SpamCop subscriber, not staff/admin)


More information about the SCspamcop mailing list