[Scspamcop] Re: Spanish on the Fly

rooster acmeanvil at fishnet.com
Fri Jul 18 00:44:25 EDT 2008


Mike Easter wrote:
> rooster wrote:
>> I was poking about trying to find out what the
>> spamvertized site  <http://jaav[dot]es> is
>> supposed to be in aid of. I don't speak
>> Iberianese, but some of the text on the site
>> suggests it might be soliciting 'pelo país'... or
>> something like.
>>
>> Hola! Mi nombre es Jaav tengo 43 a�os a dia de
>> hoy, soy
>>                      valenciano y este es el
>> primer dominio que&nbsp; tengo. Esta
>>                      pagina esta concebida para
>> dar a conocer un poco mis
>>                      aficiones y como no un poco
>> de mi
>>
>> I don't see the point in spamming for pen pals;
>> not much money in it. Has anyone here some
>> experience/insight as to what the "maguffin" is here?
> 
> Maybe there's a clue in the original spam.  Tracker?

http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2076517921z9eb57f5cd94109dd3747b885e556d005z

> 
> The website is just that of the blogger Jaav who is 43 (y/o).  "Hello! My
> name is Jaav I have 43 years today, I am Valencian and this is the first
> domain I have. This page is designed to publicize a little my hobbies and
> not a little like me."
> 

That's pretty close to my rendering... it's just 
that it sounds like the kind of fluff that appears 
in spam; betimes.

When I googled 'senor Jaav' yesterday I came upon: 
"Net Experiments" ...
http://spamrecorder.blogspot.com/

Since Jaav's missive arrived with all the earmarks 
of spam, I'm guessing there's a connection to the 
spam samples mentioned on the "Net Experiments" 
site. But I couldn't see anything to rationalize 
the coincidence, like a 301 're-direct', or an 
indication of an original folder path/file name 
when I queried the <jaav[dot]es> site, (per: curl 
-i).

You'll notice that the dates on these 'recorded' 
spam iterations on Net Experiments are well into 
the future....hmmmm??!!  So I'm baffled as to why 
'señor solo en Valencia' might have his blog 
identified in a spam, or if the blog site has been 
spamver-hacked... and if so, how could I spot the 
"how" if I come across something similar in future.

> One very nice way to translate a webpage which is in any of about two
> dozen common and not-so-common languages is to go to googlewebsearch and
> click on language tools and go to the "Translate a web page" function,
> select the language to/from and input the page address.
> 

I've used the Translation tools a couple of times 
when I'm confident(ish) the site is safe. I've 
never tried using them when I'm browsing with 
tools like curl to check spam URLs' sources that 
might have hidden code, .gifs and/or js nasties, 
or using w3m and wget to view pages. Even though 
I'm using Debian/Gnu/Etch/FFox/Icedove, I'm still 
_very_ timid about where/how I go 'splorin'.

> What I like about that google languagetool function is that not only can
> you navigate around the website getting all the pages linked translated,
> but also there is a little 'popup' function so that if you mouse over a
> term, the tool throws up the original language version so that you can
> 'finetune' the meaning by seeing the original.
> 

'es muy cool tool, amigo. Gracias.'
-- 
Happy trails,
rooster
boundary beach, bc


More information about the SCspamcop mailing list