[Scspamcop] Re: Don't understand reporting address
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Mon Apr 7 00:13:04 EDT 2008
Patto wrote:
> 221.186.69.122 is NTT/OCN -> abuse at ocn.ad.jp
>
> Why does SpamCop want to report to report_spam at hotmail.com ?
>
> Yes, I can see the following, but I still don't understand:
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
----
> Parsing input: http://sns24.com/secret14/
> Host sns24.com (checking ip) = 221.186.69.122
> host 221.186.69.122 = pc2.i-s-n-24-unet.ocn.ne.jp (cached)
> Routing details for 221.186.69.122
> Cached whois for 221.186.69.122 : kira_domain at hotmail.com
> Using abuse net on kira_domain at hotmail.com
> abuse net hotmail.com = abuse at hotmail.com, report_spam at hotmail.com
> Using best contacts abuse at hotmail.com report_spam at hotmail.com
> abuse at hotmail.com redirects to report_spam at hotmail.com
It is a 'dumb' algorithm and it follows the algostrategies. It follows
the 'trail' of determining the admin/tech contact handle at the
appropriate RIR regional internet registrar, which in this case is
whois.nic.jp, particularly the 'little tiny' 8 IP netblock
221.186.69.120 - 221.186.69.127
admin-c: OS441JP
tech-c: OS441JP
... from that SC derives...
whois -h whois.nic.ad.jp os441jp
a. [JPNIC Handle] OS441JP
c. [Last, First] Suzuki, Osamu
d. [E-Mail] kira_domain at hotmail.com
... then it uses abuse.net lookup on the domainname of the nic.ad.jp
contact, which turns out to be the abuse.net reg'd hotmail addresses.
SC passed by what a human can see about the parent of the larger
netblock:
inetnum: 221.184.0.0 - 221.191.255.255
Email address for spam or abuse complaints : abuse at ocn.ad.jp
As a general rule, the algo's strategy would be more pinpointed to the
smaller netblock, but in this case the nic.ad.jp listed contact has a
hotmail address, which didn't work out according to the algostrategy.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SCspamcop
mailing list