[Scspamcop] Re: hillary clinton campaign spam

geekyguy spamster at my508.com
Sat Apr 5 12:01:30 EDT 2008


"Miss Betsy" <devnull at spamcop.net> wrote in message 
news:ft816d$ml6$1 at news.spamcop.net...
>
> "andrew" <spamster at my508.com> wrote in message 
> news:ft7o4b$jv8$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> <snip>
>> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1760915696zda4907ae009fd2c10663e15e68b76d11z
>>
>> So just to reiterate, this was sent to an email address that does not 
>> appear in the public WHOIS for the domain, and is not used in any way 
>> except as a link on the website.
>
> I am not sure whether that was the original question or not.  Mailing 
> lists often do have their email address in both the From and To with all 
> the recipients in the Bcc.

That has nothing to do with the original question. I'm receiving these 
campaign support requests at an email address that was somehow harvested or 
obtained against my will. I'm asserting they're spam, since I have not 
supported the campaign and have never expressed interest in their contacting 
me at this address (or any address). I've reported it as spam and was 
curious if anyone else had received UCE from the campaign.
>
> The email, itself, appears to be coming from ibm.com which I assume is 
> IBM. My guess is that it is either an overzealous supporter or an ignorant 
> user who has an infected computer.  The latter might be more likely since 
> I think you said that the email directs you to a site where a trojan is 
> downloaded.

No, I never said that. Someone else made the comment that there was a trojan 
masquerading as Hillary campaign mail. I'm sure this is legitimate email 
being sent to an illegitimate address...or "spam" as some people like to 
call it <g>.

> If it is malicious, probably not against Hillary herself - her name is 
> just used as a celebrity name that will get people to open the email - 
> then the object is to infect more computers.

No, it's legitimate...I've received numerous emails...several per week...and 
they're all coming from IBM and rackspace, where I presume the server is 
located.
>
> If you are the only reporter getting these and they are not going to 
> spamtraps and the volume of email is large, then your reports may not get 
> them listed on the spamcop bl.  Since the spamcop reports are, apparently, 
> being ignored by the source, perhaps a manual report to the abuse address 
> might get their attention.

Exactly...my reason for posting was to find out if anyone else has seen 
this. My suspicion is that the campaign has targeted domains with name 
"newyork" in them, as was the case with the email address in 
question...unfortunately I only control a single domain with the words 
"newyork" in them, otherwise a double-hit would be enough smoke for me.



More information about the SCspamcop mailing list