[Scspamcop] Re: hillary clinton campaign spam

Miss Betsy devnull at spamcop.net
Sat Apr 5 10:10:12 EDT 2008


"andrew" <spamster at my508.com> wrote in message 
news:ft7o4b$jv8$1 at news.spamcop.net...
<snip>
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1760915696zda4907ae009fd2c10663e15e68b76d11z
>
> So just to reiterate, this was sent to an email address that does not 
> appear in the public WHOIS for the domain, and is not used in any way 
> except as a link on the website.

I am not sure whether that was the original question or not.  Mailing lists 
often do have their email address in both the From and To with all the 
recipients in the Bcc.

The email, itself, appears to be coming from ibm.com which I assume is IBM. 
My guess is that it is either an overzealous supporter or an ignorant user 
who has an infected computer.  The latter might be more likely since I think 
you said that the email directs you to a site where a trojan is downloaded. 
If it is malicious, probably not against Hillary herself - her name is just 
used as a celebrity name that will get people to open the email - then the 
object is to infect more computers.

If you are the only reporter getting these and they are not going to 
spamtraps and the volume of email is large, then your reports may not get 
them listed on the spamcop bl.  Since the spamcop reports are, apparently, 
being ignored by the source, perhaps a manual report to the abuse address 
might get their attention.

Miss Betsy 




More information about the SCspamcop mailing list