[Scspamcop] Re: careerbuilder.com - legitimate company? joe job?

VanguardLH V at nguard.LH
Thu Apr 3 00:40:07 EDT 2008


"Patto" <nobody at devnull.spamcop.net> wrote in message 
news:fsusdd$geg$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1764394515z50b39fdba95c6330eb57a7538917cae5z
>
> There are literally hundreds of links in this message, all pointing 
> to somewhere on http://www.careerbuilder.com/
>
> Yet, SC does not seem to be able (or willing) to report any of these 
> addresses. What is the reason for this? Legitimate company / joe 
> job? Or just a regular spammer who knows how to evade SC?


Seems to be an awful lot of scripting in the e-mail from a company 
that should know better because almost, if not maybe all, e-mail 
clients will block scripting in HTML-formatted e-mails.  Only boobs 
would be running e-mail clients with scripting enabled.

The <title> tag seems specific in what jobs it is reporting.  Sure you 
didn't subscribe to them to have a search performed regularly on 
criteria that you specified?  Maybe someone subscribed but mispelled 
their e-mail address which was similar to yours so what they specified 
was your e-mail address.  I would think they would only include 
scripting from subscribers that were expecting to get e-mails from 
them and would perhaps whitelist them so the scripting would work (if 
such a per-sender option were available in the recipient's e-mail 
client).

The "The Bat!" e-mail client was used makes it suspicious that a 
spammer used it to spew out his crap.  I have yet to ever receive a 
non-spam e-mail that was composed using "The Bat!".  It's like buying 
a gun and claiming that no bullet will ever be used in it.  They were 
developed for a specific purpose and will get used for that purpose. 
That the sender is using boskowan.com (Czech Republic) and using "The 
Bat!" sure seems like a joe-job attempt to defame CareerBuilder. 
Maybe some boob employer or agent thereof mispelled the e-mail address 
and it went to you instead of to a user at CareerBuilder that has 
added his resume there and wants employers to contact him.



More information about the SCspamcop mailing list