[Scspamcop] Re: Major Blockage

Jon jonr at prorefrigeration.com
Thu Nov 1 10:45:04 EDT 2007


Hi Mike,

Thanks for your response. Sorry for the ambiguity, the posting IP is the IP 
of the MX record and is the Ip that is being blocked. I apreciate the 
information. And your help!

Jon


"Mike Easter" <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote in message 
news:fgb7ii$ivt$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> Jon wrote:
>
>> <xxxxx.com #5.5.0 smtp;553 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx mail rejected due to
>> excessive spam (Spamcop)>
>
>> However the IP listed in not on Spamcop's list.
>
> Some servers reject mail and give 'bogus' information in the
> rejection -- that is, the domainname or the IP is 'blocklisted' by the
> receiving server, but the basis of the blocklisting is not based on
> spamcop's list.
>
> That is, this part is a 'lie' (misleading):
>
> "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx mail rejected due to excessive spam (Spamcop)"
>
> A healthy rejection is one which provides accurate information as to why
> an IP was blocked, a b*llsh*t rejection does *not* give accurate
> information.
>
> Your posting IP and the IP of the MX of your posting From are not
> blocklisted on any of the 103 blocklists I checked, if that is the IP
> found in xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
>
> Another possibility is that xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx was previously listed in the
> SCbl, but is not currently because SCbl autodelists.  The public does
> not have access to recent SC blocklisted history when the IP is
> auto-delisted.
>
> However, if this issue has anything to do with the website for your From
> domainname, that is a completely different IP address, which website
> address is shared by over 500 different names hosted by Hostway at the
> prorefrigeration IP address.  Sometimes webservers have mailers which
> are insecure and get blocklisted.
>
> I don't know why it is important for you to keep xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx a
> secret when you are posting with a valid From domainname and your
> posting IP is accessible in the news message headers.
>
> It is much easier to work on the problems for an IP if we are talking
> about a real IP rather than a hypothetical one.
>
>
> -- 
> Mike Easter
> kibitzer, not SC admin
> 




More information about the SCspamcop mailing list