[Scspamcop] Re: So can anyone tell me why SpamCop doesn't chaintest this item, or even recognize the second line as valid?

Anthony Edwards anthony.edwards at uk.easynet.net
Sun Aug 5 06:48:57 EDT 2007


On Sun, 5 Aug 2007 00:18:40 +1000, Geoffrey Hyde <g.hyde at bigNOSPAMpond.net.au>
wrote:
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1380924298zfb2f0df55ff348d82057c571d60ebcb7z
>
> This tracker has been canceled and the spam in question has been thrown into 
> the trash folder.
>
> What's wrong with that second Received: line that makes SpamCop not even 
> want to consider it?

If by "second Received: line" you mean this:

  ---- begin smtp header extract ----
Received: from MYQD ([10.174.86.19])
	by 78.112.52.209.in-addr.arpa (8.13.4/8.13.4) with SMTP id
x2662840865199b6Sb119669
	for <x>; Sat, 04 Aug 2007 13:12:15 +0100 (CDT)
	(envelope-from f4hjp8o at nhra.com)
  ---- end smtp header extract ----

IP address 10.174.86.19 falls within RFC 1918 reserved private address
space, for use on private internets (nowadays known as intranets):

http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc1918.html

i.e. 10.174.86.19 is not Internet routable, and as a result does
not and cannot identify the actual point of origination (or relay)
of any item of email that you may receive, Unsolicited Bulk Email
or otherwise.

Additional confirmation:

abuse at abuse:~$ whois -h whois.arin.net +10.174.86.19

OrgName:    Internet Assigned Numbers Authority 
OrgID:      IANA
Address:    4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 330
City:       Marina del Rey
StateProv:  CA
PostalCode: 90292-6695
Country:    US

NetRange:   10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 
CIDR:       10.0.0.0/8 
NetName:    RESERVED-10
NetHandle:  NET-10-0-0-0-1
Parent:     
NetType:    IANA Special Use
NameServer: BLACKHOLE-1.IANA.ORG
NameServer: BLACKHOLE-2.IANA.ORG
Comment:    This block is reserved for special purposes.
Comment:    Please see RFC 1918 for additional information.
Comment:    
RegDate:    
Updated:    2002-09-12

OrgAbuseHandle: IANA-IP-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:   Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Number 
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-310-301-5820
OrgAbuseEmail:  abuse at iana.org

OrgTechHandle: IANA-IP-ARIN
OrgTechName:   Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Number 
OrgTechPhone:  +1-310-301-5820
OrgTechEmail:  abuse at iana.org

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-08-04 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

Of course, some people complain to abuse at iana.org (!) - thankfully,
SpamCop's reporting system is too smart to do that!

-- 
Anthony Edwards              *     anthony.edwards at uk.easynet.net
Abuse Team Manager           *     Tel: 020 7900 4444
Easynet Ltd                  *     DDI: 0161 888 3507
http://www.easynet.com       *     Fax: 0845 333 4503


More information about the SCspamcop mailing list