[Scspamcop] Re: low importance - anyone know what this spammer is
peddling?
ed
ed at noreply.com
Sat Aug 4 03:42:19 EDT 2007
On Sat, 4 Aug 2007 02:19:10 +0100
"Ant" <not at home.today> wrote:
> "ed" wrote:
>
> > If it happens to be a job advert from an agency then I should not
> > report as spam,
>
> Why not? If you didn't ask for it and it looks like bulk (which it
> does because it contains words indicating so) then it's spam.
Sorry, "If it happens to be a job advert from an agency", I omitted
"from an agency who I know and communicate with". I get one or two job
adverts from a particular agency advertising in this area. So I checked
this one, but it did not appear to be from them, and I certainly don't
do financial work.
> > This one struck me as odd, it's not asking for money, in any obvious
> > way, so I wondered if the information on a CV could be of use to
> > them... Just a curiosity.
>
> It could be a phish, a money-mule operation or a genuine job advert.
> You've omitted crucial information. Where did it come from? Are any
> headers forged? What domain is the email address? Have you requested
> mail for job vacancies, and if so, surely you know who would send it?
Unfortunately my 'send to spamcop' script deletes the original mail,
and I submitted a dozen or so last night. I don't know which of the
reports was for this email payload, I don't think SC keeps the original
mail content, or does it?
I have requested job information, I'm reasonably sure this was spammed,
I was just curious to wonder what the hell this was trying to achieve.
It is of low importance though, so as this is not something that
appears to be well observed, then I can ignore it as a one-off...
--
The cup and string to the mcu is screwed because of Nutty drinking a
bottle of peach schnapps. Network Appliance is smoking crack.
:: http://www.s5h.net/ :: http://www.s5h.net/gpg
More information about the SCspamcop
mailing list