[Scspamcop] Re: eh?
jg
connyank at cox.net
Thu Aug 2 23:51:47 EDT 2007
On 8/2/2007 9:48 AM Mike Easter inquired:
> jg wrote:
>
>> Don't know where I got that address for reporting to, been a long
>> time, but seems that it may involve some bogosity or at least an
>> internal problem with them.
>
> Antiphishing's website is here http://www.antiphishing.org/
>
> They have the address you mailed to exposed as a naked mailto on their
> report_phishing page, so it most likely gets lots of spam.
>
> I don't think there's anything wrong with antiphishing; they are
> involved in a number of different anticrime and antiscam activities and
> have a lot of partners and are run by volunteers.
>
> Maybe it is convenient for them (where 'them' may be one of the
> volunteers) to use gmail as a spamfilter and phishing submissions
> storage bin.
>
> Maybe they sort out the phishes to the various volunteers to look over
> and one of the volunteers routes his allotment via the .jp mailserver to
> gmail to help with the part of it which is just spam.
>
>
Thanks for that input, Mike, I was sorta looking for some thing positive
to come out.
Lets assume its a volunteer, as you say. Wouldn't do much good to route
samples through an ISP that rejects it as spam.
That said, think I just read about the very spam I had sent - had a .zip
attachment which apparently contained a nasty virus.
Think I saw it at alt.spam.
I've been to their site - maybe I'll sign up and see how it goes...
More information about the SCspamcop
mailing list