[Scspamcop] Re: Who is the spammer trying to fool here?

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Thu Aug 2 21:30:22 EDT 2007


Geoffrey Hyde wrote:
> "Mike Easter"
>> This is a misdirected bounce
>
> OK I'll notify the Deputies and see if they can do anything regarding
> this spamitem.

>From an 'automatic' perspective, your just reporting the source the way
SC wants to report it would be satisfactory, and only suboptimal because
your mailhosted submission doesn't notify anyone, but it still counts
toward the source and the source SC derives from the parse is
satisfactory.  Reporting a misdirected bounce is fine.  That server
source is fine as a source choice.

The source as determined in your tracker would count toward the SC
blocklist, but no one would be notified.

>From the perspective of notifying the deputies about the issue, someone
who 'messes around' in .routing sometimes, like maybe me, should outline
a routing recommendation to the routing deputy about why they/I think
the blocks associated with the IPs I mentioned should be notified
according to nic.ad.jp contact information instead of what SC does.

If I would do that, then likely the routing deputy would also see that
there is an algorithm problem regarding what is happening about deriving
from arin and apnic instead of nic.ad.jp.  And/But making a routing
entry about particular blocks is certainly easier than researching the
algo.


-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SCspamcop mailing list