[Scspamcop] Re: Who is the spammer trying to fool here?

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Thu Aug 2 09:42:43 EDT 2007


Mike Easter wrote:

> In reality, both of the IPs 133.183.129.25 rDNS smtp.mei.co.jp and
> 157.8.1.150 no rDNS calling itself panasonic would be notified in the
> same way by a human -- however, SC's notify for the 133 in this case
> would be wrong, whereas the notify for the 157 would be correct, see
> below.

SC isn't able to derive the notify properly for either one of the IPs.
Something needs to be fixed.

> The routing deputy is going to need to fix the problem for the
> algorithm not being able to figure out to go to nic.ad.jp instead of
> arin or apnic.

> What SC *should* be doing is getting the contact from nic.ad.jp for
> both/either of them.
>
> whois -h whois.nic.ad.jp 157.8.1.150 ...
> a. [Network Number]             157.8.0.0/16
> b. [Network Name]               PANANET
> g. [Organization]               Matsushita Electric Industrial Co.,
> Ltd. m. [Administrative Contact]     SO4680JP
>
> a. [JPNIC Handle]               SO4680JP
> c. [Last, First]                Ohta, Shirou
> d. [E-Mail]                     ohta.shirou at jp.panasonic.com
> g. [Organization]               Matsushita Electric Industrial Co.,
> Ltd.
>
> whois -h whois.nic.ad.jp 133.183.129.25 ...
> a. [Network Number]             133.183.0.0/16
> b. [Network Name]               PANANET
> g. [Organization]               Matsushita Electric Industrial Co.,
> Ltd. m. [Administrative Contact]     SO4680JP

-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SCspamcop mailing list