[Scspamcop] Re: Network Solutions turned off my domain

V Meyers nobody at devnull.spamcop.net
Sun Apr 1 16:23:06 EDT 2007


"Mike Easter" <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote in message
news:eup16l$tcf$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> V Meyers wrote:
> > "Mike Easter"
>
> >> The website was http://www.pjmorgan.com/ -- it is not currently
> >> possible to tell what that site's IP was.
> >
> > http://205.178.132.70/ (it is a name based server so this will not
> > return anything)
> > This is a Cox hosted server
>
> Not really.  That IP you gave lives in here:
>
> whois -h whois.arin.net 205.178.132.70 ...
>
> OrgName:    InQuent Technologies Inc.
> NetRange:   205.178.128.0 - 205.178.191.255
> RTechEmail:  mark.salerno at inquent.com
>
> >> /If/ your website had been at 68.15.233.248 - which condition is not
> >> possible to tell at this stage, the normal spamcop parsing algorithm
> >> would not have notified NetSol about that site being spamvertised,
> >> because netsol does not control that IP.
> >
> > The web site has always been at 205.178.132.70
>
> Netsol does not control that IP either, see above.  If spamcop were
> going to notify about that IP, it would notify abuse at inquent.com -- not
> cox or netsol.
>
> >> SC's system does not notify a domainname registrar.  SC's system
> >> notifies the provider for the IP's block, which in this case if that
>
> >> If there is some other IP involved with your site or email, then
> >> that is another matter.
> >
> > Just Cox Communications. I have my 1 ip address above, my web site is
> > at 205.178.132.70 and my email server is hosted with Cox also, and my
> > mail seems to send from dukecmmtao01.coxmail.com = 68.99.120.68
>
> The website IP as given isn't cox.  How the mail is handled may be that
> the incoming is handled by an MX in one IP block and the outgoing could
> be handled in another IP block and with a different name.

It really is Cox (sort of), this is the company in Canada that Cox
Communications contracts with for hosting services.
control.coxhosting.com = 205.178.132.50 (all Cox branded)
So it is in a different block than the email servers.

On the mail severs, outgoing and incoming look like the same C block
68.99.120.0/24
mx.coxmail.com = 68.99.120.4
dukecmmtao01.coxmail.com = 68.99.120.68
pop.coxmail.com = 68.99.120.2
smtp.coxmail.com = 68.99.120.3

Thanks for the information and help.


> > I just talked to NetSol again, they now say they are going to start
> > 'looking into this' Monday morning and that it should not take more
> > than a "-FEW DAYS-" to investigate... I went off line without notice
> > mid afternoon Friday the 30th, and I still do not even know what I am
> > in trouble for..
>
> It is very common for providers to 'deal with' a presumed spammer
> without talking to them, because spammers always lie -- so the provider
> doesn't even ask anything.  They just terminate the service while they
> figure things out.  Sometimes that is a very stupid behavior based on
> some very stupid mistake.  Sometimes it is based on some kind of
> insecurity of the client -- the client was spamsourcing or even
> spamvertising because their IP was being 'usurped' by the spammer.
>
> -- 
> Mike Easter
> kibitzer, not SC admin
>




More information about the SCspamcop mailing list