[Scspamcop] Re: Network Solutions turned off my domain
V Meyers
nobody at devnull.spamcop.net
Sun Apr 1 12:23:41 EDT 2007
"Berny" <nobody at spamcop.net> wrote in message
news:eumst9$ghh$1 at news.spamcop.net...
>
> "V Meyers" <nobody at devnull.spamcop.net> wrote in message
> news:eump1f$cgi$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> > Hello, Yesterday afternoon at about tea time, Network Solutions locked
my
> > domain name. So with no DNS out in the world I started getting calls
that
> > people were getting bounces that said "domain does not exist".
> > I called Network Solutions of course, and the only information that I
have
> > is that they received a 'report' from spamcop.net and that was enough
for
> > them to disable my domain (this is for a long standing local retail
> > company).
> > With no notice. I have a sysadmin@ account a proper abuse@ account a
> > postmaster@ account, and they of course have my phone number and fax
> number
> > and street address for that matter.
> > And of course no one can tell me what this is in this 'report' until
> Monday.
>
> Well, you don't give us any more information either.
>
> So,
>
> 1)You would have had a spamcop report made against your IP for sending or
> relaying spam or bogus bounces. (Can cause blocklisting)
>
> or
>
> 2) Your domain may have appeared as a link in a spam item. (Just
> informational, in the way of a complaint)
>
> Case 2 normally has no consequences, except for actions taken by the
> recipient of the notice.
>
> In case 1, unless your abuse addresses were deemed really black hat the
> notice would have been addressed to your abuse address or postmaster.
>
> In case 2, likewise notice should have gone to you or your upstream
> provider. I am guessing Netsol is your registrar, but not your
connectivity
> provider.
>
> So someone may have used a spamcop capability for additional notifies to
> notify Netsol.
>
> I have seen a lot of spam, but never one where a notify to Netsol was
> proposed by SpamCop.
>
> A lot of spam nowadays gets bodies from non-spamming newsletters, and
> attaches it's own spamvertizing in an effort to bypass filters, and also
to
> cause the unwary to complain about innocent bystanders as you might be.
>
> In any case, without more information than you provided us, (like the
> domain/IP in question at a minimum) and probably other information you can
> only get from Netsol on Monday there is little more anyone can tell you
> about your problem.
>
>
Thanks for the reply, this is all very strange...
I sorry, I hate posting domain names if is not really necessary
The IP address is 68.15.233.248 the domain is pjmorgan.com
My ISP is Cox Business services this is the -only- IP address I have.
My email and web are hosted at Cox (unlikely they are sending spam with my
name on it).
I do have a firewall and current fully patched systems, I have run what I
can to determine that I am not sending spam, virus checkers, spybot, rootkit
revealers, etc... Cox said they have not had any 'reports' on my domain, or
any other unusual activity.
All of the information that I have is that Network Solutions told me that
they disabled my domain name because of a report from spamcop. And for the
safety of the internet they immediately suspended my account until they
could investigate further. And that the Policy Compliance department is
closed until Monday morning they were unable to provide me with the 'report'
(I could not believe it either). So I have absolutely no idea of what the
actual circumstances are at this time, except for the fact that my domain is
locked.
Do a whois and you will see it says ClientHOLD for status...
clientHold : An object on clientHold is not published in the DNS zone file.
If it is a domain, it will not resolve until the clientHold status is
removed. This status may be added to an object by either the registrar who
sponsors the object or the registry administrator.
More information about the SCspamcop
mailing list